Management and Structure

The Institute for Climate Change and Environmental Management (ICCEM) is under the supervision of the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs and headed by the Director who manages and coordinates all programs and activities. There are five (5) departments to carry out its goals and objectives.

Functions of the Different Departments:

I. Research and Extension Department (RED)

Conducts researches in environmental education, environmental issues, management and protection of the different ecosystems in Region III and nearby environs.It is also responsible in ensuring public awareness and knowledge on environmental issues through community projects and through dissemination of environmental information for public understanding and awareness and extend service pertaining to environmental management, pollution prevention and resource conservation to the community (Environmental Impact Assessment/Social Impact Assessment, Environmental Monitoring). It consists of the following units:

  1. Technical Research Unit composed of Environmental Health, Ecosystem Research, Environmental Quality Research, Climate Change and Biodiversity Research
  2. Social Research Unit composed of Environmental Education Research, Policy/Advocacy Research, Socio-Economic Research
  3. Institutional Development Unit
  4. Technical Assistance Unit


II. Environmental Education Department (EED)

Responsible in promoting environmental education especially in tertiary and graduate levels, it offers M.S. and Ph.D. in Environmental Management. It gives training/ seminar/ workshop regarding environmental education/issues. This department also produces and acquires print and non-print media materials that can serve as tools for effective and efficient instruction and information/technology dissemination. It consists of the following units:

  1. Formal Education Unit
  2. Non-Formal Unit
  3. Information and Educational Material Resources Unit
    1. Library
    2. Environmental Education Resources


III. Environmental Conservation Department (ECD)

Concerned with strengthening the capacity of the off-site conservation facilities thru collection and conservation of biodiversity, educating the public and contributing to sustainable development. This department has a conservation park, biodiversity museum, nursery and an arboretum. The ECD is consist of the following units:

  1. Biodiversity Conservation Unit
    1. ConservationPark
    2. BiodiversityMuseum
    3. Nursery
    4. Arboretum

b. Resource Management Unit


IV.  Disaster Risk Management and Public Health Department (DRMPHD)

Responsiblein the preparation of disaster risk reduction strategies for all climate change programs and activities and is in-charge in the disaster management during calamities due to climate change. It is also responsible in making plans and local actions in the occurrence of diseases and emergencies concerning public health in relation to climate change in CLSU and other local communities up to the regional level. This department will work in collaboration with the LGU’s Disaster Management Office and National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC), Office of National Defense, College of Veterinary Medicine, CLSU Infirmary and Philippine National Red Cross.  It consists of the following units:

a. Disaster Risk Management Unit

b. Public Health Unit


V. Information Management Department (IMD)

Responsible in postinglocal weather advisory and managing the database pertaining to climate change, weather, hazard maps and other data related to climate change and environmental management. This department works in coordination with local, regional and national PAGASA-DOST; Mines and Geosciences Bureau; DENR, PHIVOLCS-DOST; and NAMRIA-DENR. It consists of the following units:

  1. Information Unit
  2. Database Management Unit